Guide to PCMH Recognition

  • 5 lessons
  • 0 quizzes
  • 0 week duration

Guide to PCMH Recognition

National Committee for Quality Assurance (NCQA)

NCQA’s Patient-Centered Medical Home (PCMH) Recognition program is the most widely adopted national PCMH evaluation program. Approximately 13,000 practices are recognized by NCQA as PCMHs.

This brief questionnaire will help you determine if you are eligible and ready to begin the PCMH Recognition process.

To become an NCQA-Recognized PCMH, a primary care practice must learn the NCQA PCMH concepts and required criteria and begin the transformation process.

The NCQA recognition process is managed through a system called Q-PASS. A Q-PASS tutorial is available here.  

NCQA has developed a PCMH Recognition Toolkit to help practices get started on the PCMH Recognition process.

The NCQA PMCH Standards and Guidelines include the requirements to meet the standards, as well as explanations and examples.

NCQA offers online and in-person Education and Training for practices and consultants to learn about program requirements, the application process, and sustaining recognition.

In partnership with the SHIP, NCQA released Idaho-specific education and training:

NCQA’s PCMH Content Expert Certification is a program available for PCMH advocates to display their comprehensive knowledge of NCQA’s PCMH Recognition Program. More information about the program can be found here.

Here are some of the most frequently asked questions about the NCQA PCMH Recognition program.